Rainy Day Update

WELL, it is fiercely storming outside right now, so to distract myself from the inevitable tree crashing through my home, I thought this would be a good time for an update.

My plan for the day was to make some more coat hook rails to sell at the next City Market, but that requires sanding and spraying, both of which I prefer to do outdoors… so that plan is scrapped until this thunder stops being so terrifying.

I did sell two coat hook rails at the most recent City Market, last Thursday:

CoatHookRailDragonFly

CoatHookRailNautical

They were a collaboration between my friend, Katie Pollok, and I.  She was out of town for the Market, but I’m sure she’ll be happy to know they sold, and that a few dollars will be coming her way!

 

 

CoatHookRailRedFabric

I also recently made this fabric covered coat hook rail!  It hasn’t sold yet, so if you want it, contact me.  It is $25.

 

 

A few other things RE: my involvement with The City Market:

CityMarketBenches

I am a member of the Greenhorns, a group for young preservationists and sustainability advocates.  A few of us went to Architectural Salvage of Greensboro, along with employees from Running With Horses, the events company that puts on The City Market, to make these benches for the grassy seating area in front of the stage!

They are made from salvaged hardwood floor slats from historic homes here in Greensboro that were slated for destruction.  All in all, we made 10 of them!  And three of them have sold at Architectural Salvage.  If you want to buy one, email ASG.  Otherwise check them out at the next market on August 15th!

 

 

CityMarketPhoto

The Greenhorns at the City Market on June 20, 2013.  Photo credit: Benjamin Briggs.

 

The booth that I am managing at the City Market is not a personal booth, although it does carry a lot of my personal art.  It is a Greenhorns Booth, with information on the Greenhorns, Preservation Greensboro, and Architectural Salvage.

We carry the really fascinating book, Greensboro: An Architectural Record, by Marvin Brown, as well as items made by our members from salvaged/repurposed materials.  A portion of all of the booth sales go to the Greenhorns Fund, which will be used, firstly, to buy a domain name, and subsequently, to fund our projects around Greensboro and around North Carolina.  We’ll be bringing awareness to the public about historic building preservation, sustainable retrofitting, and architectural history in our area, as well as creating a dialogue with government officials on these topics.

 

 

As for this rainy day, I’m lucky to be at home and not out in the flash floods coursing down the streets.  I think I’ll work on some more bag bags.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

xC

 

 

 

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Commercial, Craft, Life

Leave a Reply

