Day 04: Favorite Place

Last night I had my pals G. and K. over for girls craft/wine night.  After eating homemade pizza and tomatoes with fresh mozzarella and basil, and while continuing to drink our many glasses of wine, I suggested they join me in the Challenge for Day 4, the Favorite Place.

We each drew on one of my pages of my “Journal Project,” which is something I haven’t blogged about just yet (but is soon to come, I assure you).  We gave ourselves 20 minutes.

This is K.’s drawing of Valparaiso, Chile, where she studied abroad. 


(click photo for image source)

So beautiful, I had to include a photograph!

G.’s favorite place is a stretch of path in Lake Daniel Park in Greensboro, where she walks her dogs every day. 

I had a favorite place on the brain after having one of those bawling-in-the-car-by-myself-while-listening-to-NPR drives on the way home from work.  They were doing a segment on Bill Monroe and his music brought back a flood of memories from when I lived with my friend D. at the top of a flight of stairs at the house on top of the hill on Long Street in Boone. 

We had bedrooms right across from each other with a tiny bathroom in the middle and closets which attached as a kind of secret passage between our bedrooms and through which the cats very much enjoyed chasing voles at all hours, but especially when we were asleep.  He and I would have conversations to each other through our open doors, D. hoarding chocolates at his laboriously clean computer desk while I sewed in my room with my lime green wall-to-wall shag carpeting and blue walls. 

D. always had on bluegrass music.  Even while watching the Daily Show.  So during the NPR segment, when they played a clip of Bill Monroe with Earl Flats and Lester Scruggs, I’ll tell you, I just lost my shit.  I missed that boy so much.  I missed that life so much.  There was a lot I was reminiscing about that time, more than just the top of the stairs with D., but that little clip of music made me realize that my past is gone forever.  Boo hoo hoo.  God Damnit.

Speaking of which, and I think this is probably a good place to end this blog post, today I found this quote by Louise Bourgeois that I had written in my journal some time back:

Everything is fleeting, but your drawing will serve as a reminder; otherwise it is forgotten.

So there ya go.

xCass

Posted in Uncategorized
One comment on “Day 04: Favorite Place
  1. […] My favorite place is always home, apparently. […]

Leave a Reply

