Book It!*

Howdy, y’all! 

For those of you who have been joking that I should change the name of my blog from CreateArtDaily, to CreateArtMonthly, I have one thing to say to you:

Oh, wait.  Maybe it isn’t a good idea to start off the post that I want people to read by offending them.**

My many endeavors since you last heard from me include: doing the same old shit.  Continuing to work on my BAGBAGS, and continuing to quilt my quilt, and continuing to make a general mess of my apartment, and continuing to convince my cats to love me. 

Add to that, this:

These are just half of the signatures (i.e. paper folded up all nice like) for the SIX books I am about to make.  I have three sets of friends tying the knot this summer, and I thought it would be a nice thing to give them each a leather bound book with their names stamped into the front covers.  I ordered the leather from the clearance section of this shop a few days ago.  I’m impressed with the easy transaction, and I should be getting it in the mail any day now!

One of the pairs is about to go teach in Korea together for a year, and I wanted to give them something small and useful that they could take.  Especially with traveling, there is going to be so much for them to want to remember, and document and paste in there.  So, of course, I am making them for all the couples, because who doesn’t need a journal to keep up with the new adventures of marriage and stuff?

For those of you interested in the specs, I am using Staetler 18lb vellum graph paper for the signatures (I wanted something that wouldn’t bleed!), and “lightweight, garment grade” cowhide for the covers (because it was in the clearance section, that was the only description besides color).  I am going to do 3 signatures of the vellum and 2 signatures with a regular old drawing paper (t.b.d.), and bind with the Italian Long Stitch (I chose this link because in searching for an example to show you, I actually recognized these books!  We were in the same bookbinding class at Penland two summers ago!!).

I’ll be sure to post when they are done!

And if you happen to be one of the six betrothed-to-be, just act surprised, okay?

xCass

*you remember this, right?

**Suck it!

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

