Fish and Whistle

Today we have another guest post from my friend Vanessa, here to explain the highly coveted Artist Trading Card (that is what Matt’s little scratchings and Maggie’s mini portraits are called, apparently). 

Take it away, V.

Artist Trading Cards (ATCs) are basically a business card for artists. I don’t have an art business right now but I love to make things of all sorts. These are fun to do because it’s like mini art….I love miniature stuff because it’s so cute. And probably because I am mini too at 4’11’’….woo hoo (ed. note: Vanessa and I make great companions in this regard).


I started making ATCs with an art group that I had belonged to. We made ATCs for an hour or so then we had to trade them with the other group members. I had a hard time letting go… now I just keep them.


@font-face {
font-family: “Arial”;
}@font-face {
font-family: “Calibri”;
}p.MsoNormal, li.MsoNormal, div.MsoNormal { margin: 0in 0in 10pt 0.5in; line-height: 200%; font-size: 11pt; font-family: Arial; }div.Section1 { page: Section1; }They take some time to put together for me because I don’t make one at a time.  I like to start with a striking photo with some texture to it, then add to it later.  I also like to start a card with a quote or phrase or even a word that I can find in magazines or books.  Then I go from there.

@font-face {
font-family: “Arial”;
}@font-face {
font-family: “Calibri”;
}p.MsoNormal, li.MsoNormal, div.MsoNormal { margin: 0in 0in 10pt 0.5in; line-height: 200%; font-size: 11pt; font-family: Arial; }div.Section1 { page: Section1; } There isn’t really a way to know when an ATC is finished…  I could keep working on any one of them until it seems done.

I hope that you make some ATCs! Then we can trade….

@font-face {
font-family: “Arial”;
}@font-face {
font-family: “Courier New”;
}@font-face {
font-family: “Calibri”;
}p.MsoNormal, li.MsoNormal, div.MsoNormal { margin: 0in 0in 10pt 0.5in; line-height: 200%; font-size: 11pt; font-family: Arial; }div.Section1 { page: Section1; }



Good news for everyone!

I have done just that!!  This first one was purely for work purposes.  On Etsy, when I leave positive feedback for our customers, I always leave a little Thank You picture for them.

Then I thought this would be a great idea:

And then I got this song stuck in my head:

I think I’ll turn these into actual business cards for this website; I’ll post when I come up with a good way to write my vitals on the other side (le sigh: if only I had a letterpress).

xCass

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

